Awkward Surprises


A few days ago, the green LED on my newfangled smart phone started blinking; naturally I turned it on to see why it was making such a fuss. I had received a new comment on my last blog entry. It was odd, I thought, because it had been some time since I posted. My entries have been lagging lately as I’ve been more interested in playing than blogging during my limited spare time. After reading the comment I thought it even more odd: I’m now a member of Crazy Kinux’s EVE Blog Pack.

So, I’ve had a few days to think about what this means. I suppose it’s going to be an impetus for me to write more. I’m certainly a fan of my own writing. If I wasn’t, I wouldn’t do it. Being a fan, though, means that I agonize over every line and try to catch every mistake so it comes out perfectly — and in the end, the writing is still not perfect. Often, this is what slows my posting pace. The content is relatively easy to come by, but polishing is extremely time consuming.

I’ve struggled to find a voice for the blog. My entries address a broad range of topics rather than shining as a focused beacon of light. That is why I’m confused about my selection when there is at least one other very much more deserving blogger.

In a strange twist of fate, it seems that one of my favorite blogs did not make the pack. Mord Fiddle of the Fiddler’s Edge clearly deserves this honor much more than I do. His intelligent and insightful analysis of alliance politics and war strategy sucks me in every time. Sadly (for me and many of his readers) this oversight has led Mord to shift his attention to other projects. Fortunately for us, he’s not leaving the spotlight entirely. I’d gladly give up my seat on the pack if it meant Mord would continue to write. But in the end, I think this is like one of Two-Face’s coin tosses for Mord and he would have embraced either outcome. Either way, I’ll be continuing to follow his writing, as I am a big fan.

Even though the Fiddler’s Edge didn’t make it to the pack, you should add it to your list even if his updates become more sporadic — they are worth a read. And while some great blogs didn’t make it to the pack, other great blogs were already there. Some of my favorites are (in alphabetical order):

  • The playground for discussing morality, meta-gaming and role-playing that is Ecliptic Rift.
  • EVE Privateer, the chronicles of an EVE journalist turned warrior — recently with even more unbridled bias.
  • EVEOGANDA, insight into the addled mind of a PVPer.
  • Freebooted, where Seismic Stan blogs about the life of a merry not-so-pirate and all things associated with the not-quite-a-pirate lifestyle.
  • Cailais talks a lot about game mechanics and the state of the game on the Hydrostatic Capsule.

There are many more great blogs I’ve not mentioned both in and out of the EVE Blog Pack.

~ by paritybit on 2011/02/08.

9 Responses to “Awkward Surprises”

  1. Piffle, Parity – your blog is absolutely top shelf stuff hitting on both the intelligent insight and readability cylinders. It’s always been on my short list of must reads and I congratulate you without reservation.

    • I appreciate the sentiment, but we all know yours is better. Well, maybe just different. More focused certainly. More active without a doubt. I’m glad to see you rethink your decision somewhat. Congratulations to you on your recent promotion to the pack. But, clearly I have seniority here — at least by a few days.

  2. I’m glad you made the pack, Parity. I’ve liked your work since the first time I stumbled over here, and for the past few months, you’ve been number two on the short list of blogs that I bother to check with any regularity whatsoever.
    And now you’ve ended up in the top spot. No pressure.

    • Thanks for the kind words and added pressure. Of course with the quick return of Mord I anticipate that I’m back to the number two slot so some of the pressure is off. 😉

  3. Welcome to the blog pack m8, well deserved and long overdue imo. I read every post even though I don’t always comment (to my eternal shame) and enjoy them all. So hang in there and be of good cheer, you do good stuffs.

    Oh and maybe lay off the personal pressure thing a tad, this isn’t a literary contest y’know? While I appreciate the effort sometimes just getting ideas on paper is more than enough. (Paper being the general idea, even when virtual)

    I say that only as a virtual blogging friend. Of course, maybe I’m not the best person to listen to. In fact, maybe I’m the worst person to listen to. That is probably more accurate. I wouldn’t listen to me.

  4. Wait a second! Addled mind??

    lol that just hit me.

    • Upon reflection, maybe addled is the wrong word. I looked up the definition and realized I clearly didn’t mean to compare you to a rotten egg. I think stochastic is more what I meant to convey.

      In any case, thanks for the words of encouragement. Keep on keeping on.

  5. Well, that just made my Sunday. FWIW, I haven’t been keeping up on my EVE blog reading very well lately, but I try not to miss yours. 🙂

  6. Gotta agree with the general sentiment so far… You and Mord are usually my first two stops when it comes to my daily work-time reading list..
    And I appreciate the effort you put into maintaining near perfection in your writting.. Nothing irritates me more than to see an obviously thrown together and full of errors post.. Of course, that’s just my OCD coming out, I still enjoy the one or two which seem to be written by 5th graders 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
