Grinding out meaning


The Grind. What is it? An image search on Google (because, you know, some people can’t read and an image the perfect medium) will quickly tell you it’s about skateboards, machines that sand or scrape, and coffee.

I’m not much of a skateboarder; oh, I tried it when I was in my early teens, but it didn’t last very long and I quickly turned to BattleTech, Warhammer 40,000 and Advanced Dungeons and Dragons. I’m too much of a geek for skateboards.

I took a few shop classes in high school, but all I really got out of it was a giant plastic loaded die and a poorly crafted set of sailing ships almost suitable for mounting on my Grandma’s wall. Clearly this is not my kind of grind either.

Coffee, though, is a substance that I love. All [good] software engineers are complete coffee addicts; if you meet an engineer who declines a cup of coffee, don’t trust him. Coffee is great because there is always a new roaster, a new blend, a new flavor or a new way of brewing it. I’ve tried drip coffee makers, percolators, french press and espresso — and still there are more exotic methods out there such as Turkish coffee and stove top vacuum makers.

The variety is what keeps the grind1 so great; when I’ve become bored I can switch to a different grind. There is plenty of grinding2 in EVE, but because a player isn’t restricted in the usual manner the grind can be changed or avoided.

Sometimes I find myself just wanting quick isk without much work; I can jump clone to a location near some friendly agents. Sure I had to grind a little to get into their good graces, but now I can run a mission or two  — so long as I don’t run too many, I don’t get overly bored.

Other times I’ll want to make my isk lottery style. Sometimes this means boarding a covert ops ship and doing some low-sec exploration. Other times it means hopping from one asteroid belt to the next destroying everything in my path and hoping for a faction spawn.

Much of the time I just want to feel like a near immortal pod pilot directing a behemoth ship through sheer will. I can hop in a ship and fly wherever I like, with no restrictions bar those other pilots enforce. And when other pilots try to impose their will on me, I can resist — usually with the help of a few allies.

This ability to do what we want and when we want to do it is why Casiella and EVE SOB feel there is no grind in EVE; though I disagree with the conclusion, I completely agree with the principle: there is no grind that must feel like a grind.

As Morphisat says, there is a grind — there are many types of grind; but I will counter that it’s not necessary that it feel like a grind. Sadly, too many EVE players succumb to grinding in a particular fashion and burn out. Don’t let the burn-out happen.

There is plenty of grind; so brew it up in a new way with some new beans from a new roaster and enjoy it.

[1] I bet you thought I was still talking about coffee. but no, BAM blog pvp.

[2] I define the grind as a series of [mostly] repetitive actions which are undertaken to increase your worth in some manner, whether it is for ISK, NPC standings, or even standings with your fellow pilots (don’t tell me gate camps are not a grind).

~ by paritybit on 2010/09/10.

7 Responses to “Grinding out meaning”

  1. Nice spin on it all. You know you really did not HAVE to post this and I could have choosen NOT to read it. 🙂

    So do you consider decaff actual coffee?

    Cheers

  2. Haha I did indeed do an image search myself for the blog post. The coffee machine was kinda funny :).

  3. Coffee. Grind.

    I see what you did there, very clever.

  4. The closest I get to grinding anything in Eve is during these moves, that can be a grind and there isn’t much that can be done to escape it. But otherwise, I avoid anything even remotely like a grind. Which is probably why I don’t drink coffee.

Leave a Reply

 
