Protection racket


Last night I decided to make a little money through exploration. So I was minding my own business running a site in a low-sec system I occasionally visit when a Tengu and Covert Ops jumped in and dropped core probes.

I continued for a couple of minutes until a few unaffiliated ships jumped in, including at least one interceptor. They stuck around a while and at that point I decided it wasn’t worth taking a chance on losing my ship. I didn’t have enough friends nearby to counter what I saw on scan (if they were pvp fit) so I gave up and docked.

It was late and I should have been going to sleep anyway, so I figured I would see if I could earn a little money with the intelligence I had in hand. I knew there were five good sites in system, and I had bookmarks for all of them. I also knew there was a Tengu actively looking for the sites.

My first attempt was to sell the bookmarks to my rival, so I offered them in the local channel for a small fee. No bites. After a few minutes, I figured I ought to try again — I put the bookmarks on contract and linked it in local suggesting that if anybody wanted to catch a Tengu they might have a little success with my bookmarks. I hoped the Tengu pilot would buy them as a sort of preventive measure. Then I logged off and went to sleep.

Somebody bought them. I’m not sure who (alt). But at least I got something for my effort. Next time I’ll charge double.

~ by paritybit on 2010/09/09.

2 Responses to “Protection racket”

  1. Ooh, crafty. I didn’t realise you could do that with bookmarks.

  2. Yeah, same as any other item; if you move it to your hangar, you can contract it. I hadn’t realized it either until a previous corporation of mine used contracts as a mechanism to drop off the bookmarks to wormholes at any station that might happen to be near the exit.

    Also, weird thing happened — today I accidentally warped to one of the bookmarks and the site hadn’t been completed. Out of the five good sites, four were still incomplete; so I finished them. Nice haul of drug junk, just don’t know what to do with it.

Leave a Reply

 
