Chameleon: a smuggler’s best friend


While I wish I could say my EVE lifestyle was nomadic, in truth I leave very heavy footprints in a large number of solar systems. I have more than a hundred ships scattered in clumps around a dozen solar systems which could be called temporary headquarters where I run missions in low-security space or base my exploration efforts. While this allows me to very rapidly start fresh any time I get bored with a particular area, it has the down-side in the large junk collections I leave everywhere.

While I was thinking about this junk and bemoaning my inability to transport the illegal varieties through empire space to a central repository, I decided I would propose an idea for a new faction frigate that would solve all of my problems. Clearly I’m not the first to say there should be a smuggler ship; but I dare say I’m the first to propose that it be a pirate faction frigate.

Korako ‘The Rabbit’ Kosakami, Gurista leader, was unsatisfied with his pilots’ inability to transport substantial quantities of contraband through the four empires’ space. The Chameleon is based on the Caldari Kestrel, commonly used for low-volume, high-value cargo runs by many empire corporations.  This design incorporates a cargo hold impenetrable by conventional scanners and enhancements to the Kestrel’s standard drives and maneuvering thrusters into the tried and true missile-based combat platform.

Special Ability: 100% reduction of Cloaking Device velocity penalty.

Gallente Frigate Skill Bonus: +7.5% agility and +5% to maximum velocity per level

Caldari Frigate Skill Bonus: +10% to special cargo bay capacity per level

Cargo capacity: 100 m3

Hidden cargo bay capacity: 300 m3

High Slots: 3

Med Slots: 4

Low Slots: 4

Launcher hardpoints: 2

Drone capacity: 30 m3

Drone bandwidth: 15 m3

Originally I proposed it as a T2 frigate based on the T1 mining frigates (Bantam, Tormentor, Navitas and Burst); then I started thinking about it from a storyline perspective and it didn’t make much sense for the empires to have a smuggling frigate. There could certainly be versions of this for the other criminal factions, but since I’m a fan of the Gurista line I started there.

So, what do you think?

Note: If somebody wanted to mock up a Kestrel with the Gurista colors, I wouldn’t turn it down — in fact, I’d add it to the post.

~ by paritybit on 2010/07/06.

4 Responses to “Chameleon: a smuggler’s best friend”

  1. This is a great idea. With all the drug smuggling I do… this would be perfect.

  2. I love this idea; a tech II covops rum-runner. I’ve recently found my Prowler to be incredibly useful and a smaller version with added smuggle-vision would be great. I might actually be able to find a market for my hi-sec drugs caches.

    Although, since we’re asking, instead of a reskinned Kestrel, can’t we have an entirely new model? I’ve always thought throwing a new texture on an existing model and calling it a new ship was a bit lazy.

  3. I honestly don’t know if its a good idea or not, I’m just a fan of more spaceships in the game! So bring it on.

  4. I like the idea of small, fast and stealthy ships. Though, considder that ~every~ chameleon would be worth shooting since they might have something very valueable in their hidden cargo bay.

Leave a Reply

 
