English lesson: homophones issue 1


Homophones are words that sound alike but have different meanings. There are many obvious examples, but I’ve picked one at random (no, not really at random): peaked, peeked and piqued.

Have I piqued your interest? Good, because I certainly didn’t desire to peak or peek [at] your interest. Whether your interest sits on top of a mountain (peak) or hides behind the curtain to peek at me excites me little. But when your interest is excited (piqued [definition 3]), I’m excited too!

pique

  1. to affect with sharp irritation and resentment, esp. by some wound to pride: She was greatly piqued when they refused her invitation.
  2. to wound (the pride, vanity, etc.).
  3. to excite (interest, curiosity, etc.): Her curiosity was piqued by the gossip.
  4. to arouse an emotion or provoke to action: to pique someone to answer a challenge.
  5. Archaic. to pride (oneself) (usually fol. by on or upon).

Note: How is this related to EVE? Only tangentially as it relates to EVE blogging. I’m a horrible grammar snob; now that I’ve revealed this I expect that my (scant) collection of readers will point out my many errors.

~ by paritybit on 2010/04/16.

One Response to “English lesson: homophones issue 1”

  1. I’m the last person to point out other’s grammatical errors, having been guilty of my own far too often.

Leave a Reply

 
